top of page
  • Meka King

Teaching-Watch and Pray

Prayer: Lord I come to you know and I thank you for all you are doing, and all You have done. We ask that you be with us now as we study your word. In all our getting let us get and understanding. Move by your grace and mercy, have your way in and through us. Speak through me now in Jesus name I pray Amen!

Scripture: Habakkuk 2:1-”I will climb up to my watchtower and stand at my guardpost. There I will wait to see what the LORD says and how he will answer my complaint”.

Title: Be on Guard.

I thank the Lord on today for all he is doing in the house of God. We have seen so much growth in the this year. We have had people come and go, but the flow of the spirit has not changed in the house of God. I thank God that he is with us, and he is for us and he has favor us.

I come before you on tonight, to look into a familiar scripture in a different way. Many know this passage for the latter verses. But I want to focus more on the first verse. So here we see the Prophet getting in position to hear from the Lord. In the text he is going to the watchtower. The watchtower was a place to look out over the city to see if any enemies were coming. If the enemy was coming it was the job of the person on the watchtower to warn the city which was a great responsibility. The job of a Prophet is to warn the people, to give the word of the lord in season and out of season. When people want to hear it and when they do not want to hear it. A prophet of God is responsible to tell the truth of God’s word and message and not take anything from it or add to it.

So here we see the Prophet had something to say to the Lord, and he expressioned to the Lord what he had to say and now he is waiting for a response to see what God is going to say. Sometimes we have to get away from people and go to the lord for ourselves express to him how we feel and then be silent and wait for an answer. Prayer is communication with God and dialogue between ourselves and God. We do not just pray for others but we also pray for ourselves.

The word of God tells us that we need to watch as well as pray (Luke 21:36). We must be prepared, ready, and on guard with the whole armor of God. We must be sensitive to the spirit and have a hear for the voice of God and the prompting of the Holy Spirit.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page